Cancel Or Verify Alarms Using Your Brinks Home Mobile App

The Cancel/Verify feature gives users the opportunity to respond to alarm events directly and to communicate to a monitoring station when the cause might be accidental or a real emergency. This feature add-on is included with all service levels and is available to the primary login or users with Master Control.

Important: Cancel/Verify only appears when the panel has registered that sensors have been tripped and the system is in an alarm state.

To cancel an alarm using the app:

  1. When the system is in alarm, log into the Brinks Home Mobile app.
  2. Use the Time Remainingto quickly review video cameras or communicate with those at home.
  3. Press and hold Cancel Alarmfor 3 seconds.
  4. A confirmation screen pops up to let users know the signal has been canceled.

 To verify an alarm using the app:

  1. When the system is in alarm, log into the Brinks Home Mobile app
  2. Use the Time Remaining to quickly review video cameras or communicate with those at home.
  3. Press and hold Verify Alarm for 3 seconds.
  4. A confirmation screen pops up to let users know the signal has been confirmed.

Frequently asked questions

Why use Cancel/Verify?

The Cancel/Verify monitoring station supported feature has the potential to help reduce the number of accidental alarm dispatches made each year. You can quickly resolve an alarm situation with the press of a button whether the cause is accidental or an emergency. Additionally, accidental dispatches can result in fines at all levels of accountability: users, dealers, and monitoring stations. Not to mention distracting emergency personnel from potential real emergencies. With the press of a button and without needing to wait for a call from a monitoring station, an entire situation can be resolved saving time and money.

When can I use Cancel/Verify?

Whenever an alarm is triggered at the home location and the entry delay timer has elapsed, the alarm signal is sent to the monitoring station, and the Cancel/Verify card appears in the Brinks Home Mobile app. Cancel/Verify appears for all alarm events but does not appear in the app outside of an alarm event.

Who can use the feature once it is activated?

The Cancel/Verify feature is included with any type of service plan and once it is activated, only the primary login or users with Master Control on the account have the ability to interact with it. Any logins with permission levels less than Master cannot view or use the feature.

Can Cancel/Verify be used with Linked Logins or Enterprise Groups?

No. Cancel/Verify is only available to individual accounts.

How long is Cancel/Verify active during an alarm?

Cancel/Verify remains active in the Alarm.com app until 2 minutes past the alarm signal was sent. 

What does the 2-minute counter represent?

The 2-minute counter is the estimated amount of time for a monitoring station to receive, process, act on, and dispatch based on an alarm signal or event. Response times vary between monitoring stations so a user's signal may be sent after dispatch has occurred while still in the 2-minute Cancel/Verify window. Monitoring stations still receive the signal if sent before the time has elapsed and may adjust their response accordingly. This time varies between monitoring stations. Contact the monitoring station account rep to learn how they handle Cancel/Verify.

Are alarm signals held until a Cancel/Verify button is pressed?

No. All alarm signals still send as expected and no communications are inhibited in any way. As a customer, you're able to interact with the Cancel/Verify buttons once the signal has been sent to and received by the monitoring station.

What happens when I press a button?

When you press and hold either Cancel Alarm or Verify Alarm, a signal is sent from the Brinks Home Mobile app through Alarm.com’s backend to the monitoring station and communicates the selection. Depending on what stage the monitoring station is at with handling the original alarm signal, the selection may resolve situational concerns or may help influence post-dispatch communications between the monitoring station and the emergency personnel. 

What if multiple users attempt to Cancel/Verify an alarm from different devices?

Only the first user to enter the app and respond with a Cancel or Verify has the corresponding event code forwarded to the monitoring station. Any other users attempting to submit a simultaneous response are presented with a Signal Already Sent message indicating whether it was canceled or verified. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.